The Department of Primary Education commenced operations in October 1986, when the first 80 students enrolled in the Department.

The first 7 faculty members of the Department were:


During the winter semester of the first year of Department operations (1986-87), because the elected members of the faculty had not yet received their appointments, and in order for the students not to miss a full semester of courses, the Department operated thanks to the voluntary service of faculty members from other University of Patras academic departments.  Specifically, during that “critical” first semester of operations (which was marked by a “shutdown” of the Department for more than a month while the Department had neither offices, nor faculty, but an administrative clerk for secretarial duties only), the following courses were taught: 1) Developmental Psychology (Assoc. Professor C. Porpodas, Dept. of Mathematics), 2) Sociology of Education, (Assoc. Professor  G. Kontogiannopoulou-Polydoridi, Department of Mathematics), 3) Fundamental Concepts of Mathematics (Lecturer, T. Patronis, Department of Mathematics), 4) Introduction to Philosophy, (Lecturer I. Dellis, Department of Physics), 5) Child Anatomy and Physiology with Elements of Hygiene (Lecturer L. Fari-Kostopoulou, Department of Medicine), 6) Foreign Language (offered by the Foreign Language Teaching Unit).

During these first months of Department operations, the duties of the Chair of the Department were executed by the Vice-Rector of Academic Affairs and Personnel (Prof. I. Misirllis). The Departments' General Assembly consisted of the following faculty members of the University of Patras (based on the decision of the University Senate): I. Misirlis (Chair, Vice-Rector), Al. Lykourgiotis (Department of Chemistry), C. Porpodas (Department of Mathematics), I. Kosmopoulos (Department of Physics), A. Paschalis (Department of Preschool Education), A. Xiromeriti (Department of Preschool Education).

Following the swearing in of the seven elected faculty members of the Department, procedures were initiated for the self-governance and administration of the Department. Upon an invitation by the Rector V. Proimos, elections were held for Chair and Vice Chair of the Department in May 1987. In these elections, Associate Professor of Psychology C. Porpodas was elected as Chair, and Associate Professor Maria Mirasgezi was elected as Vice-Chair. Administrative Clerk Mr. D. Halkiopoulos was appointed as Secretary of the Department.